Calladine & Bayliss Books Series

Publication Date:

January 2021

Original language and publisher

English | Joffe Books

Territories Sold

Audio (Audible)
Italy (Newton & Compton)
Germany (Amazon Crossing)
Russia (Eksmo)
Norway (Vega)


Crime & Thrillers

Calladine & Bayliss Books Series


For fans of Rachel Abbott, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell

DEAD WRONG (Book 1) — July 2015, 197 pp.

  • #2 on Amazon UK
  • Over 122,250 sales
  • Rights sold: Audio (Audible), Italy (Newton Compton), Germany (Amazon Crossing)

Police partners, D.I. Calladine and D.S. Ruth Bayliss race against time to track down a killer before the whole area erupts in violence. Their boss thinks it’s all down to drug lord Ray Fallon, but Calladine’s instincts say something far nastier is happening on the Hobfield housing estate. Can this duo track down the murderer before anyone else dies and before the press publicize the gruesome crimes? Detectives Calladine and Bayliss are led on a trail which gets dangerously close to home.

DEAD SILENT (Book 2) — July 2015, 220 pp.

  • #6 on Amazon UK
  • Over 94,300 sales
  • Rights sold: Audio (Audible), Italian (Newton & Compton)

DEAD LIST (Book 3) — September 2015, 205 pp.

  • #19 on Amazon UK
  • Over 78,600 sales
  • Rights sold: Audio (Audible), Italian (Newton & Compton)

DEAD LOST (Book 4) — January 2016, 222 pp.

  • #13 on Amazon UK
  • Over 79,850 sales
  • Rights sold: Audio (Audible)

DEAD & BURIED (Book 5) — July 2016, 227 pp.

  • #19 on Amazon UK
  • Over 64,500 sales
  • Rights sold: Audio (Audible)

DEAD NASTY (Book 6) — November 2016, 219 pp.

  • #17 on Amazon UK
  • Over 64,750 sales
  • Rights sold: Audio (Audible)

DEAD JEALOUS (Book 7) — July 2017, 229 pp.

  • #14 on Amazon UK
  • Over 63,000 sales
  • Rights sold: Audio (Audible)

A teenage girl’s body is found in the back of a car on the notorious Hobfield housing estate. No one had reported her missing, but she’s been dead for a week. Meanwhile, an old jar is brought into the station. It was found carefully wrapped in a blanket, with a child’s pink hairclip. The jar contains ashes and bone fragments. Seventeen years ago, Detective Tom Calladine had been part of a team investigating the disappearance of Jessica Wilkins. Her mother had taken her to Leesdon Park one summer afternoon. She went to get the child an ice cream and when she returned her daughter was gone. Over the years there were no sightings, no witnesses — nothing. Will there finally be closure for this unsolved mystery? And why was the girl found in the car killed and why are her friends not telling the police the whole story?

DEAD BAD (Book 8) — May 2018, 190 pp.

  • #5 on Amazon UK
  • Over 59,850 sales
  • Rights sold: Audio (Audible)

DEAD GUILTY (Book 9) — May 2019

  • #11 on Amazon UK
  • Over 48,950 sales
  • Rights sold: Audio (Audible)

DEAD WICKED (Book 10) — July 2020

  • #33 on Amazon UK
  • #53 on Amazon AUS
  • Over 16,900 sales

DEAD SORRY (Book 11) — June 2021

  • #23 on Amazon UK, #1 English Crime
  • #7 on Amazon AUS

Twenty-five years ago, a schoolgirl was attacked, ambushed by three bullies at her home where she lived alone with her granny. Now, the mother of one of those bullies is found murdered on the Hobfield housing estate. Written on the wall in the victim’s blood is the word “sorry.”

Detective Tom Calladine and his partner DS Ruth Bayliss discover a link to some bones found at an old house up in the hills. It was the home of the teenage girl who was attacked. The detectives have more than this puzzling case on their hands. Arch-villain Lazarov is threatening Calladine’s granddaughter, and a valuable hoard of Celtic gold is coming to a local museum. The pressure is on, and this time Calladine is cracking…

Marketing Information

  • Over 1,380,000 copies sold of her books in English