The Shadow Between Us

Author: Mason, Carol

Publication Date:

March 2019

Pages:

262

Original language and publisher

English | Lake Union

Territories Handled

Netherlands, Scandinavia

Genre

Commercial Fiction

The Shadow Between Us

Author: Mason, Carol

Synopsis

A beautifully written story of how we connect with each other in terrible crisis, told with wit and humanity – and one hell of a final twist. I loved it. – Louise Candlish, author of Sunday Times bestseller OUR HOUSE

I read THE SHADOW BETWEEN US in two sittings. Carol Mason has created a fast-paced novel. At its centre is a woman whose heart has been broken. She is on the run from herself. Carol takes us on an emotional journey which keep us gripped right to the very last twist, which hit me in the solar plexus. I had not seen it coming. – Carol Drinkwater, bestselling author

A skillful compassionate journey into the aftereffects of trauma, The Shadow Between Us deftly explores what happens when we hold tight to the secrets we keep, and they hold tight to us too. – Amy Hatvany, bestselling author

A haunting heartfelt exploration of guilt and hidden turmoil, of running away, of turning back to face the shadows. I loved it. – Charity Norman, bestselling author of See You In September

Poignant, emotional, and breathtaking…In THE SHADOW BETWEEN US, Olivia is running from something we’ve all feared and hope to never face. Carol Mason’s effortless storytelling and exquisite writing will keep you turning the pages until the book’s stunning and surprising ending. Bring tissues! – Kerry Lonsdale, Amazon Charts & Wall Street Journal bestselling author

For fans of Dorothy Koomson, Julie Cohen, Adele Parks, Liane Moriarty, Amanda Prowse, Harriet Evans

A new significant six figure 4-book deal with Lake Union!

What is it about the coast that attracts people running from their past?

Maybe there’s something in a sea breeze that blows away your problems. Maybe when you look out at the ocean you can see the future; forget the secrets and pain holding you back.

Or at least you can forget them for a time.

When Olivia moves to Port Townsend, her marriage is floundering, and her life is in pieces. She doesn’t know if things with her husband Mark are truly over, or quite why the phone call she longs for on her daughter’s birthday will never come.

Joining a letter-writing club seems like a harmless decision. But when she meets Ned, an ex-soldier badly wounded in Afghanistan, this unlooked-for friendship revives unexpected emotions and memories she’d rather forget.

Can Olivia find the courage to confront what she’s hiding from and finally begin to heal the wounds that have torn her life apart? From the bestselling author of After You Left comes a story about finding hope in second chances.

Marketing Information

  • Over 31,400 copies sold
  • #16 Amazon Australia