Aphrodite’s Island

Author: Green, Hilary

Publication Date:

January 2022

Original language and publisher

English | Joffe Books

Territories Handled

Netherlands, Scandinavia

Genre

Historical Fiction

Aphrodite’s Island

Author: Green, Hilary

Synopsis

For fans of Fiona Valpy, Victoria Hislop, Tania Crosse, Anthony Doerr, Nadine Dorries, Anna Stuart, Natalie Meg Evans, Dinah Jefferies, and Jina Bacarr.

One letter can change your whole life …

Cressida thought she knew her family’s history, but when she finds a box of old love letters, it makes her question everything.

Cyprus, 1955. 17-year-old Ariadne is in love with young British National Serviceman, Stephen Allenby. But her family are deeply involved with an organisation campaigning for a union with Greece, and do not approve. And they’re not the only ones. It’s only a matter of time before Stephen is sent back to England, leaving Ariadne pregnant and alone. Stephen does his best to move on with his life. He marries Laura and has a baby girl name Cressida, but it’s not long before the cracks start to show, and his marriage falls apart…

Cyprus, 1998. Forty-three years later, Cressida goes to Cyprus to recover from the double trauma of her mother’s death and the desertion of her boyfriend. She wants to find out why her father disappeared from her life when she was six, and she’s convinced the island holds the answers. The chance discovery of a box of love letters written in Greek to her father leads Cressida on a quest for the truth. Who wrote those letters? And are they somehow linked to her father’s disappearance? Her search for answers leads her on a heart-breaking journey of love, loss, and discovery.