Advanced Search Module

TERRITORIES WE SELL INTO:


Close Search

Beware the Past

Author:

Publisher:

Original Language: English | 369 pp. | December 2017

2 Seas Represents: Dutch and Nordic Countries rights.

#1 on Amazon UK

CRIME | THRILLER

For fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

A stunning new standalone crime thriller from #1 best-selling author Joy Ellis with a totally shocking conclusion.

“I think I forgot to breathe every now and then while I was reading and really begrudged having to put the book down.” — Barbara

“A simply brilliant book, so many twists and turns, I had no idea what to expect at any time.” —Janet

“The suspense starts on Page 1 and continues through the twists and turns until the very surprising ending.” — Linda Strong

“OMG, this book was fantastic I absolutely loved it. I was gripped from the first page but as the tension and suspense mounted throughout the book it just got better and better and that ending, well just WOW!” — Dawn Jones

“Gripping from beginning to end.” — Olga

“Without doubt Joy Ellis’ best yet, this from someone who has read all of the Ellis novels.” — Ron

“Full of suspense, many clues and leads that only lead to dead-ends. Interesting characters with a past and buried secrets.” — Missmesmerized

ONE TERRIBLE CASE ALWAYS HAUNTED DETECTIVE MATT BALLARD. NOW MANY YEARS LATER, THE KILLER SEEMS TO BE BACK. AND THIS TIME HE’S AFTER MATT.

When Matt Ballard was starting out his career, three boys were murdered in the same area, the remote and bleak Gibbet Fen. When the main suspect was killed in a hit-and-run, the killings stopped. But Matt was not satisfied that the real murderer had been caught.

Over 25 years later, Matt gets a photo in an unmarked envelope. It’s of the Gibbet Fen crime scene. And the picture was taken before the murder took place.

More photos arrive, relating to the historic murders, as well as intimate pictures of Matt’s very secret private life.

A KILLER WHO WILL STOP AT NOTHING TO DESTROY A DETECTIVE.

Then another murder happens, with some of the hallmarks of the old case. Has the killer returned or is this just a sick copycat determined to ruin Matt’s life and reputation? Everyone around Matt is in danger as the killer plays mind games with the detective.

In an absolutely breathtaking conclusion, Matt and his team race against time to stop a vicious killer who knows no limits.

 

The Setting
England’s rural fenland is a strange place, with its never-ending fields, winding tracks, and long straight droves (the old livestock routes) that lead to nowhere. The lonely lanes are flanked either side by deep drainage ditches and are, for a good part of the year, filled with tall, whispering reeds. Closer to the Wash, high seabanks form a barrier between river and marsh, and the richly fertile soil of the drained land. But when the mists come down, as they so often do, perspective is destroyed and all sense of direction lost, and then the fens become a rather frightening place of mystery and danger. Somewhere that you do not want to be at night.