The DI Jackman and DS Evans Series

Author: Ellis, Joy

Publication Date:

September 2016

Pages:

333

Original language and publisher

English | Joffe Books

Territories Handled

Netherlands, Scandinavia

Territories Sold

Audio (Audible, at auction)
Arabic (Dar Oktob)
Czech Republic (Euromedia)
Germany (Piper)
Sweden (Lind & Co)
Turkey (Parola)

Genre

Crime & Thrillers

Foreign Covers

 Cover
Lind & Co

The DI Jackman and DS Evans Series

Author: Ellis, Joy

Synopsis

For fans of Rachel Abbott, Angela Marsons, Mel Sherratt and Colin Dexter.

THE MURDERER’S SON (book 1) – September 2016 – 333 pp.

· 155,300 copies sold
· Over 80,900 audiobook copies sold
· #6 Amazon UK
· #14 Amazon Top 20 Most Sold Fiction books

BLOODY KILLER SEEMS TO HAVE RETURNED TO THE LINCOLNSHIRE FENS

Twenty years ago: a farmer and his wife are cut to pieces by a ruthless serial killer. Now: a woman is viciously stabbed to death in the upmarket kitchen of her beautiful house on the edge of the marshes. A man called Daniel Kinder walks into Saltern police station and confesses to the murder. But DI Rowan Jackman and DS Marie Evans of the Fenland Constabulary soon discover that there is a lot more to Daniel than meets the eye. He has no memory of the first five years of his life and is obsessed with who his real mother is.

THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS (book 2) – March 2017 – 331 pp.

· Over 200,500 copies sold
. Over 175,000 audiobook copies sold
· #1 Amazon UK
· #1 Audible UK
· #3 Amazon US
. 213,000 copies sold
· Shortlisted Best Audiobook of the Year British Book Awards 2019 (narrated by Richard Armitage)

TWO GIRLS GO TO A PARTY, ONLY ONE RETURNS ALIVE

Toni, the surviving teenager, is found deliriously wandering the muddy fields of the Fens. She has been drugged and it’s uncertain whether she’ll survive. She says she saw her friend Emily being dragged away from the party. But no one knows who Emily is or even if she’s still alive . . . Meanwhile, the drowned body of another girl has been found on an isolated beach. And how does this all relate to the shocking disappearance of a little girl nearly a decade ago, a crime which was never solved? The girl’s mother is putting immense pressure on the police to re-open the high-profile case.

THE FOURTH FRIEND (book 3) – August 2017 – 263 pp.

· #1 on Amazon UK 
. #20 on Amazon US 
· #1 Amazon Australia
· Over 170,600 copies sold
· Over 46,700 audiobook copies sold

OUR LOST FRIENDS. FOUR TASKS TO COMPLETE. ONE BIG MYSTERY LEFT.

Police detective Carter McLean is the only survivor of a plane crash that kills his four best friends. He returns to work but he is left full of guilt and terrible flashbacks. So for each of his four friends he decides to complete something that they left unfinished. Eighteen months before the crash, Suzanne Holland disappeared, leaving a room with traces of blood, but no other leads. Suzanne was the wife of one of Carter’s four best friends. Adding to the pressure, the boss’s daughter has a stalker. Due to the sensitivity of the Holland case, Carter is put on this investigation. DS Marie Evans is the only person Carter can confide in. But even she begins to doubt whether he can really cope and whether he is actually losing his mind. DI Jackman and DS Evans of the Fenland police face a battle to untangle three mysteries, and can they really believe their friend and colleague Carter?

THE GUILTY ONES (book 4) – March 2018 – 309 pp.

· #1 on Amazon UK 
· 142,900 copies 
· Over 40,300 audiobook copies sold

THE MOST DIFFICULT CASE OF DETECTIVE JACKMAN’S LIFE. WHO ARE THE GUILTY ONES AND IS ANYONE REALLY INNOCENT?

This time it’s very personal for Jackman. Jackman’s sister-in-law Sarah disappears to London and throws herself into the river. She was a woman with a seemingly happy home life and two beloved sons. DI Jackman and DI Evans dig into Sarah’s life. And Jackman realises he knew almost nothing about his sister-in-law’s past. Then, they discover a woman in a neighbouring village died in similar circumstances. What is the connection to a convicted murderer whose family are convinced he is innocent? Who is really pulling the strings? DI Jackman and DI Evans of the fenland police face a battle against their most dangerous and deadly adversary. And in a case so close to home can Jackman keep his feelings under control? Set in the atmospheric Lincolnshire Fens whose isolated villages hide many dark secrets.

THE STOLEN BOYS (Book 5) – October 2018 – 281 pp.

· Over 91,800 copies sold
· #3 Amazon UK
· #1 Amazon Australia
· Over 28,300 audiobook copies sold

DI Rowan Jackman and DS Marie Evans and the team are left reeling after serial killer, Alistair Ashcroft escaped, but they have to rally as Saltern-le-Fen finds itself at the centre of a new kind of crimewave. A highly sought after brand of streetwear called Hybird X, clothing that costs a fortune but resells at unbelievable prices, is the target. Houses are being burgled, young men mugged on the streets, and then a lad dies, all for the sake of his trainers.

THE PATIENT MAN (Book 6) – February 2020 (Audible Original)

· #4 Audible UK
· #1 Audible UK Crime and Thrillers 
· Over 38,200 copies sold
· Shortlisted for Best Book of the Year in the Crime and Thriller category of the British Book Awards
· Over 27,200 audiobook copies sold

DI Rowan Jackman and DS Marie Evans have always known that one day, their old nemesis, psychopath Alistair Ashcroft, would come back. Now, after being sent messages and photographs from him, they know that day has finally come. Jackman, already damaged both physically and mentally by Ashcroft, is fiercely protective of his loyal team and he knows that he will have to find an inner strength from somewhere to take on this formidable killer.

THE DISAPPEARED (Book 7) – November 2020

  • Over 30,600 copies sold
  • Over 20,800 audiobooks sold
  • #11 Amazon Kindle UK
  • #15 Amazon Kindle Australia

When DI Rowan Jackman and DS Evans are told that the IT boss has disappeared, they soon suspect foul play. Orla Cracken, known as Orac, is no ordinary techie; she was once a field agent traveling abroad undercover, working for the government. Meanwhile DC Robbie Melton discovers that two people, both urban explorers, have mysteriously disappeared whilst out exploring abandoned buildings. One went missing at a disused airfield, but was it a military base, or was it civilian? The gruesome discovery of their decaying bodies found hanging in ancient church ruins bursts the case wide open, and Jackman and Evans are under pressure to find the killer. With Orac safely back in the picture following a secret journey to Ireland to try and find her long-lost sister who went missing as a child, the hunt is now on to find the killer before he hangs his next victim. It soon becomes clear that the killer is targeting urban explorers, but why is he determined to track down and torture these innocent people, and how is the case connected to Orac’s mysterious past, still shrouded in secrecy?

THE NIGHT THIEF (Book 8) – October 2021

  • #1 Audible Plus UK
  • #53 Amazon UK on pre-orders

When everyone is sleeping, he comes into their houses.
He takes one thing. A photo of their child.
A sinister thief on a power trip or something even darker and more sinister?
Detectives Jackman and Evans find themselves on the hunt for a highly
unusual burglar who seemingly only steals photographs. But then, late one
night, an elderly woman falls to her death after seeing someone in her home.
Did she really fall, or was she murdered?
And just how many mysterious intruders are there on the Fens?
With the body count rising, Jackman and Evans have their work cut out for them to track down the night thief — before it’s too late.

UNTITLED (Book 9)

Marketing Information

  • Over 3.15 million copies of Joy Ellis’s crime books sold in English, with 8 consecutive UK #1 bestsellers
  • Audible Debut Crime Author of the Year 2018
  • Over 619,000 audiobooks sold

Foreign Covers

 Cover
Lind & Co