Advanced Search Module

TERRITORIES WE SELL INTO:


Close Search

A Daughter’s Courage

Author:

Publisher:

Original Language: English | 446 pp. | May 2017

2 Seas Represents: Dutch, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish, Icelandic Rights.

Rights sold: Norway (Cappelen Damm)

WOMEN’S FICTION | HISTORICAL FICTION

‘WOW!!… The detail and description was extraordinary… I was absolutely blown away by this book and couldn’t put it down. I’m going straight to Amazon to buy another book by Renita D’Silva – I need more! Just incredible.’ — Roxanne Starr

‘I was literally blown away. This story is tragic, emotional and so compelling I literally didn’t want to put it down… The story was told with such passion and heart that I didn’t just imagine this story, but felt like I was right there with her… This book was a sheer joy to read… True storytelling at its best… A truly outstanding book that I hugely recommend to everybody… A book that I absolutely LOVED!’ — 5* Best Crime Books and More

‘Every now and again a book comes along that I can’t stop thinking about long after I’ve turned the last page. A Daughter’s Courage was one of those books… An absolutely beautiful story… I really can’t say anything that will adequately describe how much I enjoyed this book so I will just say that I highly recommend it… I loved every minute of it.’ — 5* Twin Spin

‘Renita D’Silva has done it again… Truly sensational story… Stunning… Remarkable and overwhelming… Renita’s words are like liquid gold… This book even took over my dreams. My mind was completely mesmerised… I cannot recommend this book enough.’ — 5* Little Miss No Sleep

‘Heartrending… beautiful… a dream… I did not just love this book, I actually LIVED it. A Daughter’s Courage is one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read.’ — 5* Relax and Read Book Reviews

‘A story that will keep resonating in my head and heart for a long time… It swept me away… I cannot do anything but have praise for this book.’ — 5* Eccentric Lady

‘This novel bursts with rich, sensual descriptions of southern India… The narrative skips briskly along as it ensnares readers in a story designed to keep them up far too late.’ — 4* Reading the Past; Historical Novel Society

‘Gorgeous and lyrical… A very immersive read… Along with a superbly crafted setting, the characterization was outstanding… I was mesmerized by this book… Touching and poignant… A really beautifully told story that left an impact on me.’ — 5* Novel Gossip

A breath-taking journey through the rolling hills of India, deep into the secrets hidden within a family. For fans of Santa Montefiore, Dinah Jefferies and Victoria Hislop.

How much would you sacrifice to save your family?

1929. When a passionate love affair threatens to leave Lucy in disgrace, she chooses a respectable marriage over a life of shame. With her husband, coffee-plantation-owner James, she travels to her new home in India, leaving her troubled past behind her.

Everything in India is new to Lucy, from the jewel-coloured fabrics to the exotic spices. When her path crosses that of Gowri, a young woman who tends the temple on the plantation’s edge, Lucy is curious to find out more about her, and the events that lead her to live in isolation from her family…

Now. With her career in shatters and her heart broken by the man she thought was her future, Kavya flees from bustling Mumbai to her home town. A crumbling temple has been discovered in a village nearby, and with it letters detailing its tragic history – desperate pleas from a young woman called Gowri.

As Kavya learns of Gowri and Lucy’s painful story, she begins to understand the terrible sacrifices that were made and the decision the two women took that changed their lives forever. Can the secrets of the past help Kavya to rebuild her life?