The Orphan’s Gift

Author: D'Silva, Renita

Publication Date:

April 2020

Pages:

474

Original language and publisher

English | Bookouture

Territories Handled

Netherlands, Scandinavia

Territories Sold

Audio (Bolinda)

Genre

Historical Fiction

The Orphan’s Gift

Author: D'Silva, Renita

Synopsis

For fans of Kathryn Hughes, Dinah Jefferies, Lucinda Riley, Santa Montefiore, Kristin Hannah

She allows herself to kiss her perfect child just once. She wraps the baby in her last gift: a hand-knitted cardigan, embroidered with a water lily pattern. ‘You’re better off without me,’ she whispers and although every step breaks her heart, she walks away.

1910, India. Young and curious Alice, with her spun-gold hair, grows up in her family’s sprawling compound with parents as remote as England, the cold country she has never seen. It is Raju, son of a servant, with whom she shares her secrets. Together, their love grows like roses – but leaves deep thorns. Because when they get too close, Alice’s father drags them apart, sending Raju far away and banishing Alice to England…

1944. Intelligent and kind Janaki is raised in an orphanage in India. The nuns love to tell the story: Janaki’s arrival stopped the independence riots outside the gates, as the men on both sides gazed at the starry-eyed little girl left in a beautiful hand-knitted cardigan. Janaki longs for her real mother, the woman who was forced to leave her on the steps in the middle of a war, wrapped in a precious gift…

Now old enough to be a grandmother and living alone in India, Alice watches children play under the tamarind trees, haunted by the terrible mistake she made fifty years ago. It’s just an ordinary afternoon, until a young girl with familiar eyes appears with a photograph and Alice must make a choice. Will she spend the rest of her life consumed by dreams of the past, or can she admit her mistakes and choose love and light at last?

A stunning and heartbreaking novel about how a forbidden love can echo through the generations.

Marketing Information

  • Over 241,000 copies of her titles sold in English.
  • #1 Historical Asian Fiction Amazon UK