Wild Dances. A Memoir of Love, Loss, and the Eurovision Song Contest

Author: Adams, William Lee

Publication Date:

May 2023

Pages:

288

Original language and publisher

English (USA) | Astra House

Territories Handled

World excl. North America

Genre

Memoir

Wild Dances. A Memoir of Love, Loss, and the Eurovision Song Contest

Author: Adams, William Lee

Synopsis

For readers of Minor Feelings, Born a Crime, and Night Sky With Exit Wounds and fans of authors like George M. Johnson and Michael Arcenaux.

From misunderstood queer biracial kid in small-town Georgia to Eurovision Song Contest pundit, this memoir combines race, glitz, glamour, geopolitics, and the power of pop music — for fans of Crying in H Mart and Priestdaddy.

As a boy, William Lee Adams spent his days taking care of his quadriplegic brother, wary of his undiagnosed bipolar Vietnamese mother, and steering clear from his openly racist, war veteran father. Too shy and anxious to even speak until he’s six years old, it seems unlikely William will ever leave small-town Georgia. Dreaming of getting away, he devotes his time alone in his room to studying maps and reading encyclopedias.

Decades later, as a journalist in London, William discovers the Eurovision Song Contest—an annual singing competition known for its extravagant performers and cutthroat politics. William is instantly hooked. Initially just a fan, he starts blogging about the contest, ultimately becoming the most sought-after expert. From Albania to Finland, Israel to Sweden and beyond, William is soon jetting across the continent to meet divas, drag queens, and aspiring singers who perspire ambition, and who welcome him with open arms in their beautiful and accepting fun found-family.

An uplifting memoir about finding your people, no matter how far you have to travel, Wild Dances showcases the importance of music, community, love, healing, and forgiveness in living boldly and authentically.