When I Close My Eyes

Author: Wayne, Jemma

Publication Date:

May 2022

Pages:

313

Original language and publisher

English | Legend Press

Territories Handled

Netherlands, Scandinavia

Genre

Crime & Thrillers

When I Close My Eyes

Author: Wayne, Jemma

Synopsis

I honestly didn’t see that ending coming — Emma Curtis

Every now and again you read an utterly beautiful novel and its lyricism holds you tight and blows you away, all at the same time — Rachael Blok

For fans of Ruth Ware, Lisa Jewell, J.P. Delaney, Louise Jensen, Shari Lapena, Clare Mackintosh, and Louise Candlish.

Lilith is a successful Hollywood screenwriter and life in LA could not be more different to the small Buckinghamshire village where she grew up.

But everything changes when her ex-boyfriend’s child goes missing. Lilith is convinced that she’s responsible, and that she might have done something terrible.

The disappearance reignites old fears and compulsions and the psychological trauma of her childhood comes rushing back.

Lilith is forced to confront the past and watch the foundations of the world she has created to protect herself and her loved ones disintegrate around her.

Praise for previous books:

To Dare
A five star novel by one of our best writers. I was gripped. — Louis de Bernières, author of international bestseller Captain Corelli’s Mandolin

Chains of Sand
This is a wonderful book. Intriguing, moving, absorbing… a great read. — Daniel Finkelstein, The Times

After Before
Rich, haunted, gripping, painful, and beautifully entwined. — Ruth Padel

Marketing Information

  • Longlisted for the Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction
  • Shortlisted for the Waverton Good Read Award and for the Guardian Not the Booker Prize