The Town of Babylon

Author: Varela, Alejandro

Publication Date:

February 2022

Pages:

368

Original language and publisher

English (USA) | Astra House

Territories Handled

World excl. North America

Genres

Debut Novel, Literary Fiction

The Town of Babylon

Author: Varela, Alejandro

Synopsis

A gay Latinx man reckons with his past when he returns home for his 20th high school class reunion in Varela’s dazzling debut…an incandescent bildungsroman. Publishers Weekly (starred review)

[An] intimate debut. — The New York Times

…the novel’s achievement lies in its simultaneous depth and expansiveness—its huge ensemble of characters, the precision with which the landscape and culture of Andres’ hometown are rendered… — Kirkus Reviews

Alejandro Varela’s The Town of Babylon takes the tedium and heartbreak of life and renders it in extraordinary ways. I am astonished by the way Varela captures that difficult liminality: where love, under certain circumstances, slights as much as it heals. He gets to the core of all the human pressures of living in a country where everythingeverythinghas a price. The Town of Babylon is haunting, sublime, solemn, and true. Robert Jones Jr., author of The New York Times bestselling The Prophets, finalist for the 2021 National Book Award for Fiction

In Alejandro Varela’s assured debut, a man’s reluctant return to his hometown reveals that the past is not as distant as we sometimes tell ourselves it is. The Town of Babylon is funny and sexy as well as thoughtful, even heartbreaking. It’s an incisive taxonomy of the American suburb, looking beyond the white picket fence to tell a different story–what it is to be queer, the child of immigrants, and a person of color in this country. Rumaan Alam, author of Leave the World Behind, finalist for the 2020 National Book Award for Fiction

The Town of Babylon is epic, intimate, hilarious, and heartrending: an unqualified achievement of the highest degree. Alejandro Varela captures suburbia’s gridlocked travails alongside the infinitude of the heart, excavating and illuminating questions of home, family, debt, and happiness. It’s as much a love story as it is a story about love in the world, broaching the impossible question of whether we can ever really go home again–but Varela clears it with ease. This book is a queer masterpiece and Varela’s prose is masterful. I didn’t want it to end. Bryan Washington, award-winning author of Memorial and Lot

A thoughtful deep dive into a gay Latino man’s return to his working-class town, where his alienation lies in wait. Alejandro Varela’s promising debut is filled with insight about the past that produced our wounds, and how, despite having answers to lifelong questions, it holds no redemption. Intimate and jarring. Sarah Schulman, author of After Delores and Let the Record Show

Alejandro Varela dissects the disease of suburban life in The Town of Babylon, a finely-crafted literary scalpel with two edges, one that cuts through the layers of a dying body politic and another that clears arteries blocking the way to the heart of personal and political health: community. Roberto Lovato, author of Unforgetting

The Town of Babylon marks the debut of a major talent. Alejandro Varela puts a new twist on the American contemporary novel dealing with immigration, identity, race and gender. His scope is wide, encompassing, and his vision of the ‘melting pot’ includes a generous portion of the various kinds of Americans that comprise the United States . . . The Town of Babylon made me consider pertinent questions that much contemporary fiction is too timid to delve into in a compassionate, piercing and unsentimental way. Varela’s marvelous achievement reminds me of the world of John Updike’s Rabbit Run and of the deeply troubled America in Philip Roth’s American Pastoral. Jaime Manrique, author of Latin Moon In Manhattan

Varela’s debut novel shimmers with tension, navigating the personal and political with practiced ease. Treading the waters of adolescence and adulthood, The Town of Babylon navigates the complexities of home, queerness, and messy histories with measure and empathy. Weaving together histories of immigration, economic unease, and the health complications of racism in America, Varela troubles ideas of community and shared experience amidst a polarizing landscape. — Kaitlynn Cassady, Seminary Co-op Bookstores

Alejandro Varela’s debut dazzles, astonishes, and grabs hold of your heart through the very last page. Heartbreak and secrets abound in this intense, astute meditation on race, family, class, love, and friendship. Varela’s wry humor is the icing on the cake of this brilliant novel. — Deesha Philyaw, author of The Secret Lives of Church Ladies, finalist for the 2020 National Book Award for Fiction

It’s a great singular journey of a queer character that we don’t always see, but it’s also funny, honest, and accessible. — Aaron Foley, author of The Boys Come First

For readers of Little Fires Everywhere, Fates and Furies, and The Topeka School looking for intimate narratives about domestic and suburban life. Revolutionary Road meets What Belongs to You in this debut novel about suburban malaise, following Andrés, a gay Latinx professor, returning to his hometown for a twenty-year high school reunion.

When his father falls ill, Andrés, a professor of public health, returns to his suburban hometown to tend to his father’s recovery. Reevaluating his rocky marriage in the wake of his husband’s infidelity and with little else to do, he decides to attend his twenty-year high school reunion, where he runs into the long-lost characters of his youth.

Jeremy, his first love, is now married with two children after having been incarcerated and recovering from addiction. Paul, who Andrés has long suspected of having killed a man in a homophobic attack, is now an Evangelical minister and father of five. And Simone, Andrés’s best friend, is in a psychiatric institution following a diagnosis of schizophrenia. During this short stay, Andrés confronts these relationships, the death of his brother, and the many sacrifices his parents made to offer him a better life.

A novel about the essential nature of community in maintaining one’s own health, The Town of Babylon is an intimate portrait of queer, racial, and class identity, a call to reevaluate the ties of societal bonds and the systems in which they are forged.

“I see Varela’s writing as a modern, urban entry in the tradition of works like John Cheever’s The Stories of John Cheever or Raymond Carver’s What We Talk About When We Talk About Love—a tradition kept alive by writers like Teju Cole in Every Day is for the Thief and Jamel Brinkley in A Lucky Man.” —Acquiring editor Danny Vazquez

Marketing Information

  • ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2022 – BuzzFeed, LitHub, Electric Literature, LGBTQ Reads, Latinx in Publishing, Lambda Literary, and New LGBTQ Fiction for Pride 2022

Other books by this author