The Love of My Other Life

Author: Connolly, C.J.

Publication Date:

June 2022

Original language and publisher

English | Joffe Books

Territories Handled

Netherlands, Scandinavia

Genres

Commercial Fiction, Debut Novel

The Love of My Other Life

Author: Connolly, C.J.

Synopsis

For readers of The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid, The Two Lives of Lydia Bird by Josie Silver, and the film Sliding Doors.

What if there was another you, with another life… with another husband?

Josie has a great life in Brooklyn. Her apartment is cozy and warm, she’s wonderful at her job at the radio station, and Peter, the attractive guy she’s been flirting with for months, just texted to say he had to see her. Oh, and it’s her 36th birthday.

On her way to celebrate with friends, Josie crashes her bike and her world goes black. Moments later, she wakes up in hospital with a handsome man by her side holding her hand and clearly worried sick about her. She’s never seen him before in her life.

So, who is he? Well, according to her best friend, he is her husband of two years, Rob. They live in a chic penthouse near Union Square in Manhattan. And she works in real estate, not radio. But Josie remembers nothing, not Rob, not the fancy apartment, and surely not her body – which is about 30 pounds slimmer than when she got on her bike that morning.

As she takes all this in, Josie discovers the other tragic difference between her new reality and her old reality: in this version of her life, her beloved brother is dead, killed in a plane crash that occurred right after her wedding to Rob.

As Josie makes her way through her confusion, through her grief, there is a single question that haunts her: if she is now living this alternative life with Rob, is there another Josie who’s been thrust into her life in Brooklyn, going to work at the radio station, wondering what happened to her beautiful apartment and her loving husband?

Marketing Information

  • Author’s introductory video here.