The Lingering Sound of the Waves

Original title: È il suono delle onde che resta

Publication Date:

April 2019



Original language and publisher

Italian | HarperCollins Italy

Territories Handled

France, Netherlands, Scandinavia, World English


Commercial Fiction

The Lingering Sound of the Waves

Original title: È il suono delle onde che resta


It’s Christmas Eve on a remote island in the middle of a dark sea. Caterina is an eccentric old woman, an artist who has chosen for herself a life of solitude. She lives secluded in her house on the cliff, a place where she brings to life her works of art. Suddenly, she hears the sound of breaking glass. In her living room there is a little girl, soaking wet and unconscious. Caterina is overcome by emotion at this human contact. The only thing she manages to do is cover the girl with a blanket. The next morning the girl is alive but remembers nothing about her previous life. She’s searching for her father but all she can remember of him is his voice and some far-off music. An adventure begins for both of them, which is to change their lives and their hearts forever. Sometimes someone happens to come into your life, without your noticing or wanting it and that someone ends up filling the emptiness you’d decided to ignore. Because love doesn’t ask permission when it arrives where it was absent. But then it becomes impossible to let it go.

Clizia Fornasier was born in the province of Treviso, Italy, in 1986. After graduating in Foreign Languages and Literature in Venice, she moved to Rome, where her childhood dream of becoming an actress came true. Her other passion has always been to invent and tell stories, so that, even after having achieved success as an actress, model and singer, she did not give up her desire to bring to life new worlds. The only way she can fall asleep is when she thinks about writing. The Lingering Sound of Waves is her first novel.