The Kate Marshall Private Investigator series

Author: Bryndza, Robert

Publication Date:

December 2019



Original language and publisher

Territories Sold

Brazil (Grupo Autentica)
Croatia (Znanje)
Czech Republic (Grada)
Denmark (Jentas)
Dutch (Boekerij)
Estonia (Pegasus)
Germany (Lübbe)
Hungary (Libri Konyvkiado)
Italy (Newton Compton )
Macedonia (Knigoholicari)
Norway (Cappelen Damm)
Portugal (Alma Dos Livros)
Russia (ACT)
Slovakia (Grada)
Slovenia (Ucila )
Spanish (Spain) (Principal De Los Libros)
Sweden (Jentas)
Turkey (Yabanci Yayinlari)


Crime & Thrillers

Number of copies sold:

55,000 copies for book 4

The Kate Marshall Private Investigator series

Author: Bryndza, Robert


Territories handled: China, Taiwan, Croatia, France, Greece, Israel, Hungary, Korea, Lithuania, Norway, Romania, Russia, Ukraine Serbia, Slovenia, Thai, Turkey.

Nine Elms (Book 1, December 2019):

Blindingly excellent … These books should come with a disclaimer as once you start reading you aren’t going to want to walk away. — Jen Med’s Book Reviews 

OH MY GOD! Just let me a take a moment while I catch my breath! WHAT A BOOK! WHAT AN AUTHOR! WHAT A READ! It is all-consuming, there is no let up… every twist and turn is designed to make you gasp, to make your head spin and your heart beat out of your chest.— Emma the Little Bookworm

From the breakthrough international bestselling author of The Girl in the Ice, a breathtaking, page-turning novel about a disgraced female detective’s fight for redemption. And survival…

Kate Marshall was a promising young police detective when she caught the notorious Nine Elms serial killer. But her greatest victory suddenly turned into a nightmare. Traumatized, betrayed, and publicly vilified for the shocking circumstances surrounding the cannibal murder case, Kate could only watch as her career ended in scandal.

Fifteen years after those catastrophic events, Kate is still haunted by the unquiet ghosts of her troubled past. Now a lecturer at a small coastal English university, she finally has a chance to face them. A copycat killer has taken up the Nine Elms mantle, continuing the ghastly work of his idol. Enlisting her brilliant research assistant, Tristan Harper, Kate draws on her prodigious and long-neglected skills as an investigator to catch a new monster.

Success promises redemption, but there’s much more on the line: Kate was the original killer’s intended fifth victim… and his successor means to finish the job.

Shadow Sands (Book 2, November 2020):

The moors are a perfect hiding place for a serial killer. And a chilling return to the past for nascent private investigator Kate Marshall in a pulse-racing thriller by the author of #1 bestseller Nine Elms.

Criminology academic Kate Marshall is on a scuba jaunt with her son when they dive toward a shocking discovery: the body of a teenage boy entangled below the surface of the Shadow Sands reservoir. The detective chief inspector’s too-quick narrative of a tragic drowning doesn’t add up, and when Kate follows the evidence, it leads to a darker discovery.

The victim is only the latest in a series of mysterious deaths and disappearances linked to the moorlandsand a mythic phantom said to hide in the rolling fog. When a researcher of urban legends vanishes without a trace, Kate and her associate Tristan Harper must act fast and look deep if they hope to find her alive. But the elusive serial killer they’re hunting isn’t the only one a step ahead of Kate and Tristan. Someone else is making dead certain that the secrets of Shadow Sands stay buried.

Darkness Falls (Book 3, December 2021):

Kate Marshall’s investigation into a journalist’s disappearance sends her down an unexpectedly twisted path in a riveting thriller by the author of Shadow Sands.

Kate Marshall’s fledgling PI agency takes off when she and her partner, Tristan Harper, are hired for their first big case. It’s a cold one. Twelve years before, journalist Joanna Duncan disappeared after exposing a political scandal. Most people have moved on. Joanna’s mother refuses to let go.

When Kate and Tristan gain access to the original case files, they revisit the same suspects and follow the same leads – but not to the same dead ends. Among Joanna’s personal effects, Kate discovers the names of two young men who also vanished without a trace. As she connects the last days of three missing persons, Kate realizes that Joanna may have been onto something far more sinister than anyone first believed: the identity of a serial killer hiding in plain sight. The closer Kate comes to finding him, the darker it’s going to get.

Devil’s Way (Book 4, January 2023):

The truth hides in the dark.

Kate Marshall’s investigation into a young boy’s disappearance sends her down an unexpectedly twisted path in a riveting thriller by multi-million bestselling author, Robert Bryndza.

When Private Investigator Kate Marshall is rushed to hospital after being pulled into a riptide current in the sea, the near-death experience leaves her shaken. During her recovery, she befriends Jean, an elderly lady on the same ward. Jean tells the harrowing story of how her three-year-old grandson, Charlie, went missing eleven years ago during a camping trip on Dartmoor.

By the time Kate is well enough to go home, she’s agreed to take on the case, but when Kate and her trusty sidekick Tristan start to look at the events of that fateful night, they discover that Jean has a dark past that could have put Charlie in jeopardy.

Was Charlie abducted? Or did he fall into Devil’s Way? A rushing river that vanishes into a gorge close to where they were camping. When Kate and Tristan discover that a social worker who flagged concerns about Jean and her daughter was found brutally murdered shortly after Charlie vanished, it makes them question everything they thought they knew about the family…

The Lost Victim (Book 5, July 2024):

When school girl Janey Macklin disappeared from the seedy side of London in 1988, her case went cold, with no body and no witnesses. Now, thirty years later, private detective Kate Marshall has been approached by a true crime podcast producer with an intriguing question they need her help answering: What if Janey was killed by Peter Conway, the notorious Nine Elms Cannibal?

The contract would be the most lucrative of Kate’s career, but it comes with a price of its own, dredging up a sordid, complicated past that she would sooner forget . . . one that the paparazzi are determined to keep in the headlines.

As Kate and her partner, Tristan, scour King’s Cross for clues, no two leads seem to point in the same direction. The last person to see Janey alive has already been tried, convicted, and then acquitted of her murder, Peter Conway is in poor health and fading fast, and the line between their clients and their suspects is blurring with each new revelation about the case. With little to work from, can Tristan and Kate wade through clandestine phone calls, decades-old secrets, and deteriorating DNA evidence to solve Janey’s murder, or will she remain one of London’s countless missing persons, forever lost to time?

A brilliantly gripping thriller from the global multi-million-copy bestselling author, The Lost Victim will have you hooked from the first page and holding your breath all the way to the heart-stopping ending.

Marketing Information

  • Book 1 is an Amazon USA #1 bestseller and a UK top 5 bestseller