Say Her Name

Authors: Say Mitchell, Dreda, Carter, Ryan

Publication Date:

April 2022

Pages:

316

Original language and publisher

English (UK) | Thomas & Mercer

Territories Handled

Netherlands, Scandinavia

Territories Sold

Iran (Koolehposhti Book Publishing)

Genre

Crime & Thrillers

Say Her Name

Authors: Say Mitchell, Dreda, Carter, Ryan

Synopsis

My book of the year so far. — Lee Child

For fans of Clara Hunter, Rachel Abbott, Lisa Jewell, Katerina Diamond, B.A. Paris, and Louise Candlish

It’s twenty years since Eva, a biracial woman, was adopted as an eight-year-old, and Cherry and Carlton ‘Sugar’ McNeil have always been the only parents she’s wanted or needed. But when she’s dealt the double blow of Cherry’s death and her own suspension from work, Eva decides it’s time to discover who she was before she was theirs.

Against Sugar’s advice, Eva joins a DNA database, desperate for a match that will unlock her identity. And when a positive hit comes, she’s excited to learn there are relations out there who might hold the key. But the closer Eva gets to uncovering her past, the more it appears someone is trying to stop her finally finding the truth…

As she continues to dig, Eva is drawn into a dark and merciless underside to society, where black women disappear without a word. Names erased from history, no search parties, no desperate pleas for their return. Once, someone tried to save Eva from all this. Someone wanted a better life for her. But now that she’s torn down the facade of her life, has she come too far to be spared again?

Praise for Dreda Say Mitchell:

For literary voice, emotional intelligence, passion and compassion – she’s Britain’s finest crime fiction writer. – Lee Child

Dreda Say Mitchell has been flying the flag for crime writing for years. – Bernardine Evaristo

A truly original voice. – Peter James

Mitchell knows and understands her characters who she portrays
distinctively. – The Guardian

Thrilling. – Sunday Express Books of the Year

Awesome tale from a talented writer. – Sun

Fast-paced and full of twists and turns. – Crime Scene Magazine

Marketing Information

  • #5 on Amazon Australia, #9 on Amazon UK, #9 on Amazon US  (#1 in Psychological Fiction), #34 on Amazon Canada
  • #2 in the latest Bookseller Bookstat E-Book rankings chart
  • The audiobook of Say Her Name is narrated by international Netflix hit series Bridgerton’s Lady Danbury, Adjoa Andoh
  • Dreda Say Mitchell’s books have sold over 380,000 copies in English