Coffin Cove series

Author: Elliott, Jackie

Publication Date:

April 2021



Original language and publisher

English | Joffe Books

Territories Handled

France, Netherlands, Scandinavia

Territories Sold

English Audio (Podium)


Crime & Thrillers

Coffin Cove series

Author: Elliott, Jackie


A series of fast-paced whodunnits set on the gorgeous coast of Western Canada, laced with humour and a touch of romance. Fans of Murder, She Wrote, Joy Ellis, Peter Robinson, L.J. Ross, Louise Penny, and Shari Lapena will devour this mesmerizing crime mystery series.

COFFIN COVE (Book 1, Apr 2021) 

  • Sales: 9,688
  • Pages read on KU: 1,508,013 (equiv. 7,540 further sales)
  • #47 Amazon Australia
  • 900 reviews on Amazon
  • 4.3 star rating
  • 600+ ratings on Goodreads
  • LoveReading e-book of the month June 2021

Living up to its arresting title, this female-fronted thriller boasts a richness of tension, twists and murderous mystery . . . Jackie Elliott certainly doesn’t disappoint in delivering a gripping, twisty, murder mystery set around the seen-better-days backwater fishing village of Coffin Cove. –  Joane Owns, LoveReading

A deftly plotted, well-written and highly satisfying mystery with plenty of revelations and surprises to keep readers hooked and avidly turning the pages. – Bookish Jottings

I love a good mystery with a particularly atmospheric setting, such as fictional Coffin Cove on Vancouver Island, BC, Canada . . . I was quickly pulled into the narrative. – Rosepoint Reviews

Andrea “Andi” Silvers needs a fresh start. Once a star reporter, she’s been dumped by her lover and by the paper they both worked at. Andi moves to the tiny fishing village of Coffin Cove, on the Vancouver coast, where she lands a job at the local Gazette. Expecting bake sales and unpaid parking tickets to be the biggest news items, she quickly discovers the small town holds dark secrets. And the deeper Andi digs the more dirt she finds.


Andi is an investigative journalist in her late thirties. She is driven to uncover mysteries and expose truths. She’s attracted to local fisherman Harry Brown, and he’s interested in her, but he won’t engage in a casual relationship. It’s all or nothing for him.


Coffin Cove is a town of contradictions. It was once a thriving community on Canada’s beautiful Pacific coast, surrounded by spectacular nature. But the town’s stunning ocean front is marred by an ugly pulp mill and abandoned fish plant. Fiercely close-knit, kindness and community spirit are hindered by suspicion and mistrust of outsiders.

HELL’S HALF ACRE (Book 2, May 2021)

One betrayal. Two suspects. Three murders.

HOPE ISLAND (Book 3, April 2022)

Andrea “Andi” Silvers is starting to feel like this tiny fishing village of Coffin Cove, on the Vancouver coast, just might be home. She’s living with Hephzibah and sort of dating Harry. Her job at the Gazette is going well. Things are looking up. Then the body of a young woman is found on nearby Hope Island, where Hephzibah and Harry’s mother moved when they were children. Andi sets out to get the scoop on the story. She wants to be the one to identify the body and find out what happened.

Meanwhile, Inspector Vega is on holiday in the Yukon and finds himself caught up in a murder investigation. A woman has been killed, and her husband is clinging to life in the hospital. It soon becomes clear that there’s a link to Coffin Cove. The man grew up there and left after his first wife disappeared. Could the body found at Hope Island be his missing wife? The stakes ramp up when Harry and Hephzibah’s dad is discovered murdered on his boat. Did he know something he shouldn’t? The deeper Andi digs, the more dirt she uncovers. But are any of them ready for the truth?