Callum Burke series

Author: Steele, John

Publication Date:

July 2021

Pages:

376

Original language and publisher

English | Silvertail Books

Territories Handled

Netherlands, Scandinavia

Genre

Crime & Thrillers

Callum Burke series

Author: Steele, John

Synopsis

After ‘Rat Island’, I’ll be reading John Steele from now on. You should too! –  Garth Ennis

John Steele writes with grit, pace, and authenticity – fans of Don Winslow will love this. – Claire Mc Gowan

‘Rat Island’ builds on the great promise of ‘Ravenhill’ and the ‘Jackie Shaw’ series, and then some, going toe-to-toe with your Winslows and McKintys to give us a real contender for Crime Book of the Year.’ – David Peace

John Steele’s ‘Rat Island’ is a nonstop thrill ride through the little known world of Triads and Chinese gangsters. The crime bosses in ‘Rat Island’ rival at every stage the power and evil of South American cocaine cartels. But in Steele’s lyrical storytelling they are much more than simply another tale of mob bosses stashing away huge profits with a growing criminal empire. The Hong Kong Triad bosses, their American Chinatown counterparts, and a group of hardened Irish criminals, mix seamlessly with an addictive cast of characters from the Hong Kong and New York police and the DEA. ‘Rat Island’ is a super read filled with plenty of intrigue, action and suspense and sent against an exotic and seldom explored corner of crime fiction. – Gerald Posner

‘Rat Island’ speeds and thrashes with the dangerous energy of the Manhattan streets which are so vividly recalled. John Steele is the undisputed champion of the modern metropolitan thriller. – Gary Donnelly

‘RAT ISLAND never lets up for a moment in its relentless depiction of its violent but viscerally authentic world.’Irish Independent

‘This is Steele’s fourth novel and one that should make him – if he isn’t already – a stablemate of the likes of Michael Connelly. Intricate plotting, characters making questionable moral choices, gut-wrenching action and a momentum that never flags all make for a work that takes a pneumatic drill to the fragile veneer of respectability that disguises modern, urban life.’ — South China Morning Post

Featured in the New York Post, amongst their weekly “best new books to read”

For fans of Don Winslow, Steve Cavanagh, Michael Connelly, John Sandford and Richard Price

RAT ISLAND (Book 1, July 2021, 376 pp.)

A raw, dark and morally complex novel which presents a searing portrait of mid-1990s New York.

New York, 1995.

Cop Callum Burke arrives in New York from Hong Kong, drafted in as part of an international investigation into organised crime. With the handover of Hong Kong to China only a couple of years away, gangsters are moving their operations out of the territory and into New York ahead of the looming deadline. Burke’s experiences with East Asian crime and the Triads’ links to the Irish Mob make him the perfect man to send in undercover. But as he infiltrates these vast and lethal criminal networks, bodies start to pile up in his wake and his conscience threatens to send him over the edge. And when Burke’s NYPD handlers push him to continue the investigation at all costs, he may have to cross the line from cop to criminal just to stay alive….

THE SKY TURNED BLACK (Book 2, 2022)