Tag Archives: Portuguese

The Psychology of Stupidity (Psychologie de la connerie)

PSYCHOLOGY | PHILOSOPHY | SOCIOLOGY  “We need books like this one.” — Steven Pinker, psychology professor at Harvard “I was totally hooked. Everybody loves it” — François Busnel, La Grande Librairie, France 5 TV  “A very clever book”—  Yves Pagès, Le Canard enchaîné newspaper  “Can you study stupidity? The answer is a resounding YES” — Yann Barthes, […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

WTF?! (Willing to Fail): How Failure Can Be Your Key to Success

BUSINESS & MANAGEMENT| PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT What a fascinating, raw, and authentically inspiring story this is! I couldn’t stop reading it. – Pat Lencioni, best-selling author of The Five Dysfunctions of a Team, business consultant, and speaker Brian Scudamore is everyman’s entrepreneur. This book tells the story of how everyone can, with great, productive joy, literally transform […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Room 128 (Chambre 128)

FICTION | NOVEL The author of The Perfume of the Hellebore Rose comes back with a second novel, confirming her talent as a writer in the tradition of Katherine Pancol and Anna Gavalda. In the style of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, this epistolary novel, populated by incredibly endearing characters, shows how reading […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Moonlight

FICTION | YOUNG ADULT Cristina Chiperi brings us back into the fantasy world of Daisy and Ethan, the protagonists of Starlight, the first book in her new acclaimed series. As a young author who has been climbing the charts, Cristina earned the attention of both the media and the best cultural TV shows. With a remarkable number of followers […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Dry Rot (Houtrot)

​ Querido FICTION Countless sparkling observations testify to a genuine joy of writing. – Jury of the ANV Award With irrepressible force, Hillen draws you into her narrative. – Haarlems Dagblad Hillen piles on the tension and always stays two steps ahead (…) Key plot twists come as a complete surprise and never at the […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Circumambulation (De ommegang)

Querido HISTORICAL NOVEL The master of the historical novel. De Volkskrant A great novel. Not only a historical but also a psychological adventure novel. A sensuous novel, in which death roams and the drink flows freely. — jury of the F. Bordewijk Prize 2018 This is such a rich book, which we believe can endure any comparison […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

I Know Who You Are (Io So Chi Sei)

THRILLER Two years have gone by and nothing remains of what there once was. Lena was brilliant, determined, everyone said how great she was – she looked after herself, she was kind-hearted. Then Saverio came into her life and everything was turned upside down. The younger man, who opposed all rules, prejudice and conformity, changed […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

The Collectors of Wonders (La Collezionista di Meraviglie)

FICTION A shop that collects abandoned objects. Two antique watches with a story to tell. Only one girl can reveal the truth. Daphne is only a child when she finds a silver brush in an old trunk at home. It’s so bright that she can’t take her eyes off it. When she picks it up, […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

The Weaver’s Room (La Stanza della Tessitrice)

FICTION Success after success, Cristina Caboni has become one of the most beloved Italian women writers by the press and by readers. Following The Secret Ways of Perfume, The Secret Language of Honey, The Garden of Secret Flowers and The Binder of Lost Stories, bestsellers that continue to remain in the lists, here is a […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Seven Kisses Before Bedtime (Sette Baci Prime Di Dormire)

FICTION Love can always find a way back into our hearts; all we have to do is know where to look. It’s Tuesday evening and the cobblestones are glowing red in the sunset along the banks of the Arno in Florence. Florinda, known as Flò, is walking along beside the parapets but neither the city’s […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )