Tag Archives: Nordic Countries

A Pound of Flesh (trilogy)

ROMANCE | NEW ADULT Originally published as a work of fan fiction on www.ff.net, A Pound of Flesh has gone on to become an online phenomenon and an award-winning internet sensation. It has won a host of awards and attracted a staggering 4,5 million online reads. When Lancashire school teacher Sophie Jackson, began writing fan […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Gypsy Blues

LITERARY FICTION Jean Vautrin makes words dance. He is a ballet master by profession — Jean Teulé The great return of Jean Vautrin, winner of the 1989 Goncourt Prize: with his inimitable wit, he slips into the skin of a young gypsy boy. Raised by his violinist grandfather who survived the concentration camps and his stepmother […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

The Remnant (O remanescente)

LITERARY FICTION History and fiction intertwine in the tale of Hugo Simon, Jewish banker, influential art collector, socialist politician and a leading light of Weimar Germany, declared enemy of the State in 1933, after Hitler’s rise to Power. Fleeing initially to Paris, Simon was forced to seek refuge in South America after the fall of […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

The Reader on the 6:27 (Le liseur du 6h27)

FICTION When the passion of reading seizes the machine of solitude… An original and feel-good debut novel, which renders a generous reflection on human relationships and an ode to simple life, love and literature. Discrete employee Guylain Vignolles works in the book pulping business and is in charge of a formidable machine that shreds unsold […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

AN OBAMA’S JOURNEY: My Odyssey of Self-Discovery Across Three Cultures

MEMOIR The book is captivating. It gave me new insights into Mark’s life with his half-brother, “A deft memoir […] oddly engaging”—Kirkus Reviews “President Barack Obama, as well as the limited time that he had with his father, Barack Obama, Sr. This book is a compelling read for those who are very interested in learning […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Nina’s Journey (Le Voyage de Nina)

FICTION Her name is Nina, like Nina Simone the jazz singer. She is the little blue girl of her artist parents. Life is a feast until they die in a plane crash. Being forced to live with her grandparents whom she didn’t know, Nina decides to do the impossible: she escapes and waits for her […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Odessa’s Promise (La Promesse d’Odessa)

WOMEN’S FICTION New edition – Preface by Tatiana de Rosnay, author of Sarah’s Key A sentimental education set in tsarist Russia, with a foreword by the author’s grand-daughter, international best-selling author Tatiana de Rosnay. An epic tale set in the Russia of the last tsars, and a promise of escape. Like all sixteen-year-old girls, Zinaida […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Perfect Days (Dias Perfeitos)

THRILLER | NOIR  It’s hard to imagine any writer topping that terrifying portrait of love gone wrong like Stephen King’s Misery, but Montes is up to the task. In any language, Perfect Days may be the most original and viscerally explicit novel you’ll read this year . . . Filled with plot twists, violence and nail-biting scenes, […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Zebra Crossing

LITERARY FICTION For readers of Doris Lessing, Nadine Gordimer, Aminatta Forna and Dan Jacobson. A little gem of a novel – a poignant and slightly shocking story which deepens our understanding of the prevailing political situation in Zimbabwe and South Africa as well as illuminating the vagaries of human character. It is also a story of […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Trouble[s]

FICTION | THRILLER These two authors certainly know the art of bluffing and nerves-playing! —METRO (review of their previous title UNE PARTIE EN ENFER) Five hostages, five Facebook accounts, millions of likes: Dead or alive, we all choose together. An impossible choice, in seven episodes… “Help me!” When Charles reads this message on his friend Erasmus’ Facebook, […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )