Tag Archives: German

The Psychology of Stupidity (Psychologie de la connerie)

PSYCHOLOGY | PHILOSOPHY | SOCIOLOGY  “We need books like this one.” — Steven Pinker, psychology professor at Harvard “I was totally hooked. Everybody loves it” — François Busnel, La Grande Librairie, France 5 TV  “A very clever book”—  Yves Pagès, Le Canard enchaîné newspaper  “Can you study stupidity? The answer is a resounding YES” — Yann Barthes, […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

WTF?! (Willing to Fail): How Failure Can Be Your Key to Success

BUSINESS & MANAGEMENT| PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT What a fascinating, raw, and authentically inspiring story this is! I couldn’t stop reading it. – Pat Lencioni, best-selling author of The Five Dysfunctions of a Team, business consultant, and speaker Brian Scudamore is everyman’s entrepreneur. This book tells the story of how everyone can, with great, productive joy, literally transform […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Room 128 (Chambre 128)

FICTION | NOVEL The author of The Perfume of the Hellebore Rose comes back with a second novel, confirming her talent as a writer in the tradition of Katherine Pancol and Anna Gavalda. In the style of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, this epistolary novel, populated by incredibly endearing characters, shows how reading […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Ice Angel (IJsengel)

SUSPENSE When media entrepreneur Berndt Müller is kidnapped the whole of Sweden is on the lookout. His family goes against police advice and gets in touch with his kidnappers, but when they pay the ransom nothing happens. Meanwhile Berndt finds out that he isn’t alone in the abandoned hotel that he’s held captive. Can the […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Explosive Growth: A Few Things I Learned While Growing My Startup To 100 Million Users & Losing $78 Million

BUSINESSS | MARKETING “Powerful lessons for startups and CEOs on growth hacking, marketing, and innovation from one of the smartest founders I know.” – Andrew Weinreich, Inventor of Social Networking “Explosive Growth is without question one of the most useful and entertaining business books I have ever read. Cliff gives you a roadmap to massively grow […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Our Illusions of Knowledge (Nos illusions de connaissance)

ESSAY | POPULAR SCIENCE  An essential book to understand how we form our opinions and to understand the tricks that our brain plays sometimes, to better control it. We do not see the world as it is, rather, we reconstruct it in our mind. This interpretation of the world is highly subjective and various elements […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Insulated (Foling)

LITERARY FICTION Here is a debutant who has an important message to convey (…) In its best sequences, this text is about the longing, the pain, the depression, self-critizism, nausea, crying, the mind, shame (etc.) that diabetes represents, with a powerful fervency and intensity that also reflect her language. — Aftenbladet INSULATED is a book […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

The Dedication (La Dédicace)

DEBUT NOVEL Her debut novel is about to be sent to the printers, but this author still can’t decide who to dedicate it to. This is the story of a woman who is searching for something: a dedication. She is thirty years old and about to publish her first novel. In three days time, her […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Nancy Mitford. The Lady of the Rue Monsieur (Nancy Mitford. La dame de la rue Monsieur)

BIOGRAPHY  Drawing from previously unpublished accounts, Jean-Noël Liaut tells the epic destiny of Nancy Mitford and plunges us into the intellectual and artistic hub of Paris in the 1950s and 60s. Nancy Mitford was one of the most famous and eccentric novelists of her time, drawing inspiration for her best-selling novels from her family’s escapades. […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Trapped. The amazing story of the boys rescued from the Thai cave. (Pris au piège. L’incroyable histoire des enfants survivants de la grotte thaïlandaise)

NARRATIVE NON-FICTION A worldwide first with exclusive information on the unprecedented rescue operation that involved 10,000 volunteers from all over Thailand and the rest of the globe. The book blends spirituality, adventure, solidarity, folktales and legends. On June 23, 2018, the Boars soccer team from northern Thailand — 12 children, aged 11 through 16, and […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )