Tag Archives: Finnish

Suffering is an Option (O sofrimento é opcional)

PSYCHOLOGY | SPIRITUALITY Can Zen Buddhism help you prevent and/or overcome depression, an illness that afflicts 320 million people worldwide? This book by Claudia Dias Baptista de Souza, Monk Coen, says yes and shows you how. With over 300,000 subscribers on Youtube, renowned Brazilian Buddhist monk Coen reveals how Buddhism views depression. She teaches its […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Emerald Women (Mulheres Esmeraldas)

LITERARY THRILLER  Emerald Women is an extraordinary narrative that combines action, love, mystery, and politics, being also a road-novel all over Brazil. Told in superb language, it is also a great “romantic literary thriller” (in the words of Domingos Pellegrini himself), from an accomplished and much-awarded author. As a reporter for Playboy, Pellegrini covered the “Gold Fever” in the Amazon Forest during the 1980’s […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Age Isn’t the Same for Everyone (L’età non è uguale per tutti)

HEALTH | DIET Everything depends on others. Only time is our own. — Seneca Can youth be extended? The answer is yes. An illustrated book which teaches us to protect our body and our health, with practical suggestions on diet and physical exercise. Is it possible to extend youth, inverting the ageing process? The answer […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

As You See Me. The Story of a Girl Who Was Meant to Be a Boy (Telle que tu me vois. L’Histoire d’une fille qui aurait dû être un garçon)

PERSONAL ACCOUNT The fresh and touching account, full of humour, of a young girl who discovered at the age of fifteen that she should have been born a boy. How to construct a life as a woman after this discovery? Could you forgive your parents for hiding the truth? When she was fifteen, Elodie was […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Heaven’s Door. When Life Resists Death (Aux portes de l’inconnu. Quand la vie résiste à la mort)

PERSONAL ACCOUNT | SPIRITUALITY | HUMOR An incredible testimony! Olivier Emphoux is an embalmer by calling. Conscientious, attentive, he respectfully prepares the dead for their last journey. His uncommon job leads him to take care of more than 10,000 deceased all around the world. Today, he talks about all the incredible things he saw, felt, […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

A Philosophy of Dancing (Danser, une philosophie)

PHILOSOPHY  Why do we dance? Because we feel happy, sad and alive. Or because of the sense of well-being that the dance offers. Happiness creates dancing, and dancing creates happiness. Feelings are strengthened an expressed while dancing. — Julia Beauquel Brilliant and erudite, A Philosophy of Dancing is an entertaining and insightful manifesto for finding the […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Praying, A Philosophy (Prier, une philosophie)

PHILOSOPHY | RELIGION After the success of Marcher, une philosophie by Frédéric Gros (60,000 copies sold in France and rights sold to 15 countries), Carnets Nord is publishing another work of philosophy aimed at the general public. ‘Is praying a philosophy? Ask a philosopher and they’ll tell you that philosophers don’t pray, they philosophise. Talk […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Wasteland. The Great War and the Origins of Modern Horror

  HISTORY | POP CULTURE Historian W. Scott Poole traces the confluence of history, technology, and art that gave us modern horror films and literature. For fans of Erik Larson’s The Devil in the White City or Margaret MacMillan’s Paris 1919, Scott Poole’s newest work brilliantly traces the confluence of the history, technology, and art […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

All You Can Ever Know

  MEMOIR This book moved me to my very core. . . . [it] should be required reading for anyone who has ever had, wanted, or found a family—which is to say, everyone.” — Celeste Ng, author of Little Fires Everywhere What does it mean to lose your roots—within your culture, within your family— and […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Montaigne Antistress. In 99 philosophical pills (Montaigne Antistress. En 99 pilules philosophiques)

 PHILOSOPHY | HEALTH Philosophy: The beginning of happiness! “There is nothing merrier, livelier, or more cheerful than philosophy.”  — Montaigne The “philosophical anti-stress” collection welcomes Montaigne. In this book, discover 99 explained quotes you can read as efficient philosophical pills to calm yourself. The way philosophy can improve our everyday life. Other books in the collection: […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )