Tag Archives: Featured

The Psychology of Stupidity (Psychologie de la connerie)

PSYCHOLOGY | PHILOSOPHY | SOCIOLOGY  “We need books like this one.” — Steven Pinker, psychology professor at Harvard “I was totally hooked. Everybody loves it” — François Busnel, La Grande Librairie, France 5 TV  “A very clever book”—  Yves Pagès, Le Canard enchaîné newspaper  “Can you study stupidity? The answer is a resounding YES” — Yann Barthes, […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Fidelity (Fedeltà)

LITERARY FICTION Marco Missiroli won the Campiello Opera Prima, the Super Mondello and the Mondello Giovani. The previous novel Atti osceni in luogo privato sold more than 150.000 copies in Italy. Carlo, a professor of storytelling, teaches a weekly six-hour course during which he often indulges in his own sense of failure and finds some fulfilment in the young feminine […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Fauna (Faunes)

LITERARY FICTION You would think that Laura, a biologist possessed of insatiable curiosity, is actually leading several lives, because she constantly finds herself in strange places: the fog-filled city of Shivering Heights, a tiny floating hamlet in the middle of danger-infested waters, the High Arctic with its ravenous bears. A willing witness to uncontrollable climatic […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

WTF?! (Willing to Fail): How Failure Can Be Your Key to Success

BUSINESS & MANAGEMENT| PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT What a fascinating, raw, and authentically inspiring story this is! I couldn’t stop reading it. – Pat Lencioni, best-selling author of The Five Dysfunctions of a Team, business consultant, and speaker Brian Scudamore is everyman’s entrepreneur. This book tells the story of how everyone can, with great, productive joy, literally transform […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Room 128 (Chambre 128)

FICTION | NOVEL The author of The Perfume of the Hellebore Rose comes back with a second novel, confirming her talent as a writer in the tradition of Katherine Pancol and Anna Gavalda. In the style of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, this epistolary novel, populated by incredibly endearing characters, shows how reading […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Debora Camilli Series

CRIME FICTION Book 1: RUSH HOUR. INVESTIGATION AT THE WHEEL (L’ORA DI PUNTA. Un’Indagine al volante) – May 2017 – 300 pp. Don’t forget Debora Camilli, her taxi Siena 23 and her special way to observe Rome: it’s born a star, a black star. — Maurizio De Giovanni The young Debora Camilli is driving a taxi in Rome not […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Quaestor Flavius Callidus Series (Questore Flavio Callido Indagini)

HISTORICAL CRIME SERIES | THRILLER Book 1: MURDERS IN THE “URBE”. THE FIRST INVESTIGATION OF QUAESTOR FLAVIO CALLIDO(OMICIDI NELL’URBE. LA PRIMA INDAGINE DEL QUESTORE FLAVIO CALLIDO) – June 2018 – 360 pp.  61 B.C. A series of illustrious corpses terrorizes Rome. The list of possible culprits is long: among them, Marcus Tullius Cicero. To discover the […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Waiting for the World to Call (Sperando che il mondo mi chiami)

DEBUT NOVEL | FICTION A fresh, compelling voice in Italian fiction.  A new unforgettable main character. Waiting for the world to call is a deeply poetic and moving novel about facing the many unexpected challenges life lays before us. Maria Francesca Venturo’s irresistible and genuine narrative unveils the hopes, dreams and frustrations of those who […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

The Woman in the White Kimono

HISTORICAL FICTION  Oceans and decades apart, two women are inextricably bound by the secrets between them. Japan, 1957. Seventeen-year-old Naoko Nakamura’s prearranged marriage to the son of her father’s business associate secures her family’s status in their traditional Japanese community, but Naoko has fallen for another man. An American sailor, a gaijin—and to marry him […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

In the Wall (Nel muro)

THRILLER | CRIME FICTION Mauro Corona is back with a new story about pain and violence, where even his writing style is hard-hitting, unvarnished. Yet this novel is not an apology of hate, but rather an elegy of our fight against the hate growing inside us. – La Lettura In a forest in the mountains of […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )