Tag Archives: English (Canada)

Fauna (Faunes)

LITERARY FICTION You would think that Laura, a biologist possessed of insatiable curiosity, is actually leading several lives, because she constantly finds herself in strange places: the fog-filled city of Shivering Heights, a tiny floating hamlet in the middle of danger-infested waters, the High Arctic with its ravenous bears. A willing witness to uncontrollable climatic […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Room 128 (Chambre 128)

FICTION | NOVEL The author of The Perfume of the Hellebore Rose comes back with a second novel, confirming her talent as a writer in the tradition of Katherine Pancol and Anna Gavalda. In the style of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, this epistolary novel, populated by incredibly endearing characters, shows how reading […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Moonlight

FICTION | YOUNG ADULT Cristina Chiperi brings us back into the fantasy world of Daisy and Ethan, the protagonists of Starlight, the first book in her new acclaimed series. As a young author who has been climbing the charts, Cristina earned the attention of both the media and the best cultural TV shows. With a remarkable number of followers […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Darling Médée (Médée chérie)

NOVEL At an airport a woman is waiting for her husband, who has just popped off for a moment, to return. All of sudden she realises what is happening as the boarding gate is closed: Ismaël won’t be coming back. Médée stands silent and motionless, not wanting to leave the airlock where this violent fait […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

The Last River (Le Dernier fleuve)

NOVEL Mo is carrying his little brother Jo on his back. They are two small boys detached from their past and any background. They are walking, but don’t know for how long they have been walking, or where their feet are leading them. When they arrive at a river in the morning, it seems like […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

First Lady (Première dame)

NOVEL Euphoria and family pride greet Paul’s announcement that he will be standing in his party’s primaries for the presidential election. Marie the devout wife begins a notebook to mark the occasion in which she intends to chronicle the events of the next two years. Marie has always been at Paul’s side and this partner […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Two (Dois)

LITERARY FICTION Two distinct voices narrate this novel. Two elderly brothers tell their lives each from a different angle, with a different focus, revealing their peculiar identities. The oldest, Zé Paulo, is conservative and methodical. The youngest, Zé Eduardo, is restless and unstable. While Zé Paulo’s language is colloquial, as he is talking to his […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

The Healing Power of Gratitude: How to heal the wounds of the past (La gratitude qui guérit : Comment soigner les blessures du passé)

PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT | HEALTH Gratitude is about being grateful for what we receive. It is a way of living, an orientation of the heart, a disposition of the mind, an attitude that we choose to adopt toward life, events, suffering. A quality to cultivate. Christine Angelard was trained in traditional medicine in France, then turned […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

The great art form. Diary of an Actress (Le Grand Art)

LITERARY FICTION The life of an opera singer Fifty years after the death of one of the most famous 20th century’s explorers, her remarkable novel Le Grand Art, loosely based on her own experiences as an opera singer,is for the first time being published in a special edition. Written in the first person, the novel recounts […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

The Groove (Le sillon)

LITERARY FICTION  “The writing is direct and sincere and it immediately had me hooked. I love how she portrays Turkey, she describes what could happen in France tomorrow.” — Virginie Despentes “Inside Le Sillon dwells a frantic, violent and menacing world ; a world that is nevertheless very much alive. Its story approaches the collective […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )