Tag Archives: Dutch

The Psychology of Stupidity (Psychologie de la connerie)

PSYCHOLOGY | PHILOSOPHY | SOCIOLOGY  “We need books like this one.” — Steven Pinker, psychology professor at Harvard “I was totally hooked. Everybody loves it” — François Busnel, La Grande Librairie, France 5 TV  “A very clever book”—  Yves Pagès, Le Canard enchaîné newspaper  “Can you study stupidity? The answer is a resounding YES” — Yann Barthes, […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

The Woman of Valencia (La femme de Valence)

LITERARY FICTION Spain: summer of 2009. For Claire Halde and her family, it holds the promise of a relaxing vacation: three days in Valencia during a dry summer; a hotel with a swimming pool to escape the stifling heat. But every trip has its complications; the sky can’t always be blue. A distraught woman makes […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Fidelity (Fedeltà)

LITERARY FICTION Marco Missiroli won the Campiello Opera Prima, the Super Mondello and the Mondello Giovani. The previous novel Atti osceni in luogo privato sold more than 150.000 copies in Italy. Carlo, a professor of storytelling, teaches a weekly six-hour course during which he often indulges in his own sense of failure and finds some fulfilment in the young feminine […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Circus: A Novel; Or, Moira Orfei in Aigues-Mortes

NOVEL| FICTION If Debussy and Robert Walser had collaborated on an opera, it would sound like this.―John Ashbery The mad genius of Pale Fire with the florid outlaw sexuality of Jean Genet―Kirkus Reviews For five years, concert pianist Theo Mangrove has been living at his family’s home in East Kill, New York, recovering from a […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

The Bleeds (Les Bleed)

POLITICAL THRILLER “The Bleeds isn’t a mere burlesque of a dictatorship, but is instead a fierce political satire with real teeth.” -Jeff Miller, Montreal Review of Books “Nasrallah invites readers to imagine themselves imbedded in power structures—not for the purpose of humanizing dictators, but as a means of jarring us out of our own polarized ideologies.” -Shenaz […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Fauna (Faunes)

LITERARY FICTION You would think that Laura, a biologist possessed of insatiable curiosity, is actually leading several lives, because she constantly finds herself in strange places: the fog-filled city of Shivering Heights, a tiny floating hamlet in the middle of danger-infested waters, the High Arctic with its ravenous bears. A willing witness to uncontrollable climatic […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

WTF?! (Willing to Fail): How Failure Can Be Your Key to Success

BUSINESS & MANAGEMENT| PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT What a fascinating, raw, and authentically inspiring story this is! I couldn’t stop reading it. – Pat Lencioni, best-selling author of The Five Dysfunctions of a Team, business consultant, and speaker Brian Scudamore is everyman’s entrepreneur. This book tells the story of how everyone can, with great, productive joy, literally transform […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Room 128 (Chambre 128)

FICTION | NOVEL The author of The Perfume of the Hellebore Rose comes back with a second novel, confirming her talent as a writer in the tradition of Katherine Pancol and Anna Gavalda. In the style of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, this epistolary novel, populated by incredibly endearing characters, shows how reading […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

The kid on the train (Il bambino del treno)

FICTION Is a story of people and places, protagonists capable of preserving innocence and simplicity. The intensity of the language and the ability of narration are the virtues of Paolo Casadio. Corriere della Sera An uninterrupted coup de coeur, narrated with grace and a remarkable litterary style. But is first of all a superb love […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

San Patricio’s Battalion (Quelli del San Patricio)

HISTORICAL FICTION  San Patricio’s Battalion is about the failed battle of John Riley, an Irish emigrant who left the American army for the Mexican side, in search of justice and peace. It’s about the madness of war – a book that resurrects, along with a little – known episode in American history, the truth (or […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )