Tag Archives: Danish

Intruders in politics: Women and minorities, domination and resistance (Des intrus en politique. Femmes et minorités : dominations et résistances)

ESSAY | POLITICS We must now pass from a quantitative parity to a qualitative one: to be as numerous no longer holds the same power. From this point forward, we must work on internal hierarchies within major and local political bodies, on the distribution and diversity among our delegations (important functions handed over to men, […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

The Impossible Consent. Josephine Hugues’ Case (L’impossible consentement: L’Affaire Joséphine Hugues)

ESSAY | TRUE CRIME | HISTORY A real historical journey that allows one to understand how “producing” consent (or refusal) is not a free and isolated decision within one person, but a clustered result of power dynamics among many. 1865, South France, in Guiols, village in Var’s interior. Timothee Castellan is a young ex-worker in […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

First They Erased Our Names. A Rohingya Speaks Up (D’abord ils ont effacé notre nom. Un Rohingya témoigne)

PERSONAL ACCOUNT “This is my chance to speak for my people, who continue to suffer, but who are voiceless.” — The Guardian The first time a Rohingya speaks up to expose the persecution facing his people Habiburahman was born and raised in a small village somewhere between Rakhine State and Chin State in western Burma. […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Never Alone. The bugs that build plants, creatures and civilizations (Jamais seul. Ces microbes qui construisent les plantes, les animaux et les civilisations

NATURE Of course not all the content in this book is easy, but all is enrapturing. Once we have accepted that the plants and animals are not autonomous entities, but beings in symbiosis with so many other tiny organisms, we see the world differently. Not in permanent competition but in close-knit association where mutual living […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Go You Know Not Where: What if there’s another way of seeing the world? (Va par où tu ne sais pas: et s’il y avait une autre manière de voir le monde ?)

 SOCIETY | SPIRITUALITY This book offers a humanist perspective on some of the greatest concepts of our time! — G. F. Smoot, Nobel Prize in Physics, 2006 An audacious title, a great adventure. — La Provence An initiatory journey to the very heart of science and parallel worlds. In 1996, journalist Laurence de la Baume interviews […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Assad

BIOGRAPHY What goes on in the head of Bachar El-Assad? Régis Le Sommier is one of the few journalists to have met the Syrian president several times since the beginning of the Syrian War. – france inter How can a journalist face up to a tyrant? Exclude him from his scope of investigation? Or approach […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

The Secret Philosophy of Birds (Petite philosophie secrète des oiseaux)

PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT | WELL-BEING There is a lot we can learn from the birds. Through thirty little lessons of wisdom, inspired from how they live, this book invites us to re-centre our lives and pay closer attention to our natural inner needs. Proving that help sometimes comes from the most unlikely of sources, this lovely […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Everyone Loves Bruce Willis (Tout le monde aime Bruce Willis)

CRIME FICTION After The Predators’ Ball and We Remember the Names of the Assassins, Dominique Maisons is back with a story that rivals the great American crime novels. She’s got it all… or does she? Rose Century is 20 years old and worth millions at the box office. Dozens of assistants are on hand to […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

The Lost Tetrads of Marshall McLuhan

  MEDIA | COMMUNICATION The pleasure to be taken in this text is to observe the obvious pleasure McLuhan had in assembling these little puzzles, allowing for plenty of head-shaking along the way.  — Kirkus Reviews The true masterwork of Marshall McLuhan. —Douglas Rushkoff Marshall McLuhan was the visionary theorist best known for coining the phrase […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )

Beware the Past

CRIME | THRILLER For fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell. A stunning new standalone crime thriller from #1 best-selling author Joy Ellis with a totally shocking conclusion. “I think I forgot to breathe every now and then while I was reading and really begrudged having to […]

Continue Reading Comments ( 0 )