Advanced Search Module

TERRITORIES WE SELL INTO:


Close Search

Spare Room

Author:

Publisher:

Original Language: English | 282 pp. | February 2019

2 Seas Represents: Dutch and Nordic Countries rights.

For fans of Clara Hunter, Rachel Abbott, Lisa Jewell, Katerina Diamond and BA Paris

Over 40,000 copies sold

#6 Amazon UK, #32 Amazon US, #1 Amazon US Psychological Women’s Fiction, #1 Amazon UK Psychological Women’s Fiction

PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER

Home Is Where The Nightmare Is

Beautiful double room to let to single person.

Lisa, a troubled young woman with a past, can’t believe her luck when she finds a beautiful room to rent in a large house. The live-in owners are a kind and welcoming couple.

Everything is fine until she finds a suicide note hidden in her room. But when the couple insist this man didn’t exist and that Lisa is their first tenant, Lisa begins to doubt herself.

Compelled to uncover the secrets of the man who lived in the room before her, Lisa is alarmed when increasingly disturbing incidents start to happen. Someone doesn’t want Lisa to find out the truth.

As the four walls of this house and its secrets begin to close in on Lisa, she descends into a hellish hall of mirrors where she’s not sure what’s real and what’s not as she claws her way towards the truth…

This room has already claimed one victim? Is it about to take another?

Praise for Dreda Say Mitchell:

‘Breathless from the first word and thrilling to the last.’ Lee Child

‘A truly original voice.’ Peter James

‘Thrilling.’ Sunday Express Books of the Year

‘Awesome tale from a talented writer.’ Sun

‘Dreda Say Mitchell is an exciting new voice in urban fiction … her prose has an individually slangily poetic zip’ The Guardian

‘Fast-paced and full of twists and turns.’ Crime Scene Magazine

Dreda Say Mitchell is the bestselling and critically-acclaimed author of the Gangland Girls and Flesh and Blood Series, as well as the stand-alone thriller, Vendetta. She writes different types of crime books but they all have one thing in common – Strong Women. On Friday nights she reviews the newspapers on the Stephen Nolan Show, BBC Radio 5 Live.  Her debut novel, Running Hot, scooped the Crime Writers Associations’ John Creasey Dagger, the first time a Black British author has received this honour. Several of her books are TV development projects. Spare Room is her first psychological thriller and she has started working on her second stand alone to be published by Bloodhound Books in late 2019.