Advanced Search Module

TERRITORIES WE SELL INTO:


Close Search

Self-Confidence: A Philosophy (La confiance en soi, une philosophie)

Author:

Publisher:

Original Language: French | 220 pp. | March 2018

2 Seas Represents: World Excl. French.

Rights sold: Italy (La Nave di Teseo, in a pre-empt), Korea (Mirae Times, in a pre-empt), Germany (Carl Hanser), Brazil (Estação Liberdade), Romania (Trei), USA (Other Press, NA, at auction), UK & BC excl Canada (William Collins, at auction), Spain (Editorial Ariel/Planeta, at auction), China (Guomai). Under option: Greece, Portugal, Poland, Arabic, the Netherlands.

Over 40,000 copies sold and 60,000 copies in print in total

#1 on Amazon France

PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT

William Collins, with our track record – as the publishers of Pulitzer-winning journalist Ronan Farrow, Joshua Levine (Dunkirk), Margot Lee Shetterly (Hidden Figures), David Attenborough, Satya Nadella [CEO of Microsoft], Daniel Kahneman, Madeleine Albright and Daniel Mendelsohn, who won the Prix Méditerranée this year – would be the perfect place to publish Charles Pépin. — Marianne Tatepo, Publishing Executive, 4th Estate/William Collins

I am very taken with the book which is very smart [and] brilliantly clear about very complicated ideas. — Judith Gurewich, Founder of Other Press

Simple, well-learned, human, modern, empathetic. — David Abiker, Europe 1

An inspiring reflection. A philosophy of action. — Claire Chartier, L’Express

Having confidence in oneself is not necessarily believing in oneself, but rather finding the strength to face your doubts. — Charles Pépin​, Madame Figaro

You’ll come out of it more knowledgeable, more humble, and especially more intelligent. A must read! — Ernest Mag

We heartily recommend it! — A vous, France 5

A bedside book for all of us here at Inter. A book full of wisdom and joy. — Boomerang, France Inter

Charles Pépin takes on another subject concerning just about everyone: self-confidence. And he isn’t afraid to step on boundaries laid by experts in the field. Within reason. — La librairie de l’Express

Charles Pépin gives us confidence. Charles Pépin explores the reserves of confidence we have within us and shows us all that it is within our grasp. — Psychologies Magazine

A great literary success. — Ali Rebeihi​​, France Inter

A moment of culture and engaging reflection. — Moustique

A philosopher has published Self-Confidence, cracking the code to wells of inner security. The key? Daring to meet the world, accepting that the unexpected awaits: a life lesson. — Madame Figaro

A compassionate response to a modern question — Jean-Mathieu Pernin, Europe 1 

Charles Pépin has given me confidence in myself — Augustin Trapenard, France Inter

Charles Pépin is a man who can explain his thought processes on existence and the world in simple language, allowing him to share his ideas with a great number — Pour l’instant 

Take action to gain confidence – not the other way around. A new philosophy to adopt — Femina 

A worthwhile and intelligent work — Le Figaro 

Charles Pépin searches to deepen self-understanding and to take control of ones uncertainty and complexity in order to create true self-confidence — Le Vif 

A nuanced philosophical reflection – and not psychologising – on self-confidence — Radio Classique 

Intriguing, profound and in-depth, Charles Pépin explores every aspect of self-confidence, a central question in our lives that is more mysterious than we like to admit. – ELLE

Direct, well-educated, human, modern, empathic. – David Abiker, Europe 1

A motivating reflection. A philosophy of action – L’Express

An accessible essay on the mechanisms of self-confidence, in the same vein as his best-seller The Virtues of Failure, translated in 12 languages.

Where does self-confidence come from? How does it work? What makes it stronger and weaker? Why are some people more confident than others? Is it only a question of temperament or the result of work on themselves? How does one get closer to those who stand out thanks to their sole confidence in themselves?

Drawing on the great philosophical texts, ancient wisdom, positive psychology and psychoanalysis, inspired by the experience of sports champions, great creators, but also unknown people such as a fighter pilot or an urgent care doctor, Charles Pépin brings to light the strange alchemy that is self-confidence. By doing so, he gives us the keys to having more confidence in ourselves.

In the tradition of The Virtues of Failure, Charles Pépin delivers an accessible essay on the mechanics and secrets of self-confidence.

Charles Pépin is a writer and a philosopher, whose books have been published in about 20 languages. He teaches philosophy at the Lycée d’Etat de la légion d’honneur in Saint-Denis, near Paris, and hosts “Philo Mondays” at the MK2 Odéon movie theater in Paris. His most recent essay, The Virtues of Failure (Allary Editions, September 2016), sold close to 60,000 copies and was sold to 12 countries.