Advanced Search Module

TERRITORIES WE SELL INTO:


Close Search

Love in the Anthropocene

Author: ,

Publisher:

Original Language: English (USA) | 218 pp. | Summer 2015

2 Seas Represents: Dutch, French, Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Norwegian and Swedish.

Rights sold: Italy (Stampa Alternativa)

FICTION | SHORT STORIES | ENVIRONMENT

For readers of J. G. Ballard, Naomi Klein, and George Saunders.

“Nadzam’s prose is just gorgeous—she writes about people and skies and mountains and landscapes with incredible precision and appreciation of beauty. A reader can swim in these sentences and soak up the landscape via the prose with great pleasure.” —Aimee Bender on Bonnie Nadzam’s Lamb

“I started reading [Jamieson’s prose] and couldn’t stop… Part of what’s mesmerizing about climate change is its vastness across both space and time. Jamieson, by elucidating our past failures and casting doubt on whether we’ll ever do any better, situates it within a humanely scaled context.” —Jonathan Franzen on Dale Jamieson’s Reason in a Dark Time

“Dale Jamieson and Bonnie Nadzam cause us to think – and to feel – what life will be like in a future where nothing is left that is spontaneous, accidental, or uncontrolled. A beautiful – and frightening – book.” —Naomi Oreskes

An audacious collaboration between an award-winning novelist and a leading environmental philosopher, Love in the Anthropocene taps into one of the hottest topics of the day, literally and figuratively—our corrupted environment—to deliver five related stories (“Flyfishing,” “Carbon,” “Holiday,” “Shanghai,” and “Zoo”) that investigate a future bereft of natural environments, introduced with a discussion on the Anthropocene—the Age of Humanity—and concluding with an essay on love.
The “love” these writer/philosophers investigate and celebrate is as much a constant as is human despoliation of the planet; it is what defines us, and it is what may save us. Science fiction, literary fiction, philosophical meditation, manifesto? All the above. This unique work is destined to become an essential companion—a primer, really—to life in the 21st century.