Advanced Search Module


Close Search




Original Language: Norwegian | 574 pp. | 2017-2019

2 Seas represents: English North American rights.

Rights sold: Germany (Penguin, RandomHouse), Holland (Meulenhoff Boekerij, 2-book deal), Poland (Czarna Owca, 3-book deal), Russia (AST), Denmark (Turbine), Sweden (Lind & Co.), Bulgaria (Uniscorp), Norway (Gyldendal, 3-book deal), Spain (Berenice/Almuzara, 3-book deal)

Full English translation available

“Impressive, trustworthy and well-written!” – Tom Egeland, VG

“Magnificent new series about our warrior ancestors! Bjørn Andreas Bull-Hansen’s new Viking novel is a real pageturner. ” – Cathrine Kröger, Dagbladet

“Jomsviking – A comprehensive and fascinating epic novel! Anyone who wants excitement, drama, rich descriptions of the environment, and reflected description on characters, gets it in Bull-Hansen’s magnificent novel Jomsviking. ” – Finn Stenstad, Tønsbergs blad


JOMSVIKING – Book 1 – 2017

Year 993. During an attack east of Viken in Norway, Torstein’s father is being brutally murdered by Olaf Trygvasson’s men. 12-year-old Torstein is taken as a slave, but opportunity arises and he manages to flee. He sets course for the Orkney Islands, to escape – and in search of his elder brother.

In Jomsviking, we follow Torstein Tormodson through his young years as slave and outlaw, and later as he becomes a warrior and mercenary of the infamous brotherhood of the Jomsvikings.

Jomsviking is the first book in a planned series. Many years of research lies behind this series, that takes us on a journey through large parts of Northern Europe. The action is coincided with actual historical events. As a Jomsviking, Torstein is involved in the power struggle between the Nordic kings and earls, leading up to a violent naval battle at Svolder year 999.

VINLAND – Book 2 – 2018

One man.
One destiny.
A new continent.

After the Battle of Svolder, Torstein and his family must flee west to escape the avenging wrath of Olaf Tryggvason’s men. Torstein has become the chieftain of a band of Jomsvikings, and sets out in search of the fabled larch forests said to be found across the ocean. He plans to become a shipbuilder and grow rich, creating a future for himself and his family.
But Torstein, once an enslaved warrior, is soon forced to fight for his life and the reunification of his kin. Vinland gives readers a unique insight into the lives of North America’s first settlers – as well as the conflicts that arose with the area’s mighty indigenous communities.
This is the second novel in the Jomsviking series, but it can also be read as a stand-alone work. The first book in the series, Jomsviking, burst straight onto Norway’s bestseller lists and currently has a total print run of 40,000 copies.

THE DANE ARMY – Book 3 – 2019

Bjorn Andreas Bull-Hansen had his international breakthrough in 2017 with the critically acclaimed novel Jomsviking, set in the viking age. We follow Torstein Tormodson from his young years as a slave and mercenary of the Jomsvikings, through his life. The Dane Army is the third book in the series, which is sold to several countries.

It’s year 1007. Torstein Knarresmed is the ruler of Vingulmork, the rich coastal region to the east of Viken. He has become one of the most powerful men in Scandinavia, and his upbringing as a slave seems a faint memory. His beloved Sigrid has given him two sons, Ravntor og Bjørnar.

But unrest is nigh. Both the ambitious Eirik, Earl in Trøndelag, and the Danish King Svein Tjugeskjegg has laid their eyes on the English kingdoms. Land, once under Danish law, is to be reconquered, and the hated King Ethelred shall be thrown from his throne. And Torstein, soon to be leader of two hundred Jomsviking’s, shall once again be called to war on foreign ground.

The third book in the Jomsviking series brings the reader into the violent and dissentious time when the Scandinavian kings and earls gathered in alliances to conquer the English realms. At the same time, it is a time of great change. Christianity is spreading fast, and with it the Norse way of life will be forever altered. Torstein Knarresmed, Jomsviking and ruler of Vingulmork, shall soon be entangled in a conflict between kings and great men, old and new times.

The Dane Army is a story of a man’s love for his woman, his children and the country he grew up in, but also of the Norse resistance against a new time, and a new and foreign faith.

Bjørn Andreas Bull-Hansen (1972) is a master of combining historical stories with high suspense. His novel Jomsviking went straight to the best seller list, and during the summer 2017 his novel was the second most sold in Norway, of its year’s releases. The reviews describes his work as impressive, trustworthy and well-written. Bull- Hansen has a comprehensive bibliography, with 17 novels. He defines himself as a traditional Viking skald and he loves to share his knowledge of Norse culture.